The Evolution Of Eminem

The Evolution Of Eminem
October 13, 2017
Composer: Eminem
Country of Origin: America

Eminem, best known as an American rapper, is also a record producer, and actor. He was born as Marshall Bruce Mathers III in St. Joseph Missouri. Marshall spent much of his life being an outcast everywhere he went. His rough upbringing shaped him into who he is today. Constantly on the move, he finally ended up in Detroit, Michigan, where he started competing in rap battles. It was his uncle Ronnie who first introduced him to hip hop and he fell in love. At the time, rap music was almost entirely produced by people of color, so he stood out like a sore thumb with his white skin, and blonde hair with blue eyes. Despite his constant rejection and failures, he kept trying and following his rap dreams. In 1996 Eminem released his first independent album, Infinite. It was not much of a hit. A year later, he released another album, The Slim Shady EP, which fell into the hands of Dr. Dre. When Dre heard this album, he wanted to sign Eminem immediately. Eminem now has countless achievements and awards in the music industry and has become a rap icon and legend.

Not only has Eminem evolved as a person over time, but so has his music. From the things he has chosen to rap about, to his beats and his voice, Eminem and his music have greatly evolved over time. The timbre of Eminem’s voice has changed so much over the years. Starting his rap career, his voice was a higher pitch. His rhymes were more creative and wild when he was on drugs at the start of his music career. You can tell now he is more mature and has toned down the crazy within himself, he has grown up. His voice has progressively evolved to be deeper and lower over time. He does have a very distinct timbre I can always recognize his voice, no matter if its old Eminem or new. Being a product of Dre, he started using a lot of beats by Dre. Over the years Eminem has evolved and progressed to having his own rap identity, coming with his own sounds and beats. Eminem is very emotional with his music, you can tell what struggles he has been going through in each album you listen to, they are all very different. His music has changed when he has. He has always been able to put out music that is different but appeals to many people. If you don’t notice these very obvious changes, you will definitely notice when his music stops sounding like it was recorded in a basement and in an actual professional studio. Eminem has also evolved the hip hop industry. Being the first huge white rapper, changing the hip hop scene and sound, being an idol and paving the dream for other white rappers.

In my opinion, I greatly prefer Eminem of the early 2000s. I also really love the higher timbre of his voice in his very first albums before he was popular. I am not into mainstream music so I prefer his earlier more “underground” music. No matter the changes he goes through, I will always have love for Eminem.

Here is an example of very early Eminem, to mid Eminem, to most current Eminem, there are very obvious changes in his voice and beats.

 

 

Eminem biography.com. The Biography.com website. A&E Television Networks. June 5, 2017. https://www.biography.com/people/eminem-9542093 

Simon & Schuster, 2001.l Rolling Stone. http://www.rollingstone.com/music/artists/eminem/biography

6 thoughts on “The Evolution Of Eminem”

  1. Nice and clear analysis about the development of Eminem. I like how you point out how he has been evolving through time in many ways. Good point about creativity and drugs. Do you think that also, since his career developed, he maybe has become more influenced by big institutions with who he is working with? Maybe he is directed to do a music that sells? But I totally agree that he has become more mature and “adult” compared to his early years as a rapper. Awesome, that you like his music from his early career! Personally, I am not really into rap music, but I like few songs from his later career (probably due to the fact that he has been working with artists that I like) For example, this song Beautiful Pain with Sia, is my choice if I listen Eminem. I found this YouTube clip about Eminem which has some interesting facts about him that you maybe would like to take look at:

    I thought that the fact 20 in this clip is very interesting, he seems to be very talented with lyrics and how cool is that he was the first rapper to get an Oscar.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great analysis! I also claim to be a casual fan of Eminem, and I have to agree with you that his older, more aggressive songs tend to be more appealing to me. Not to mention he could make you laugh like no other rapper could. Maybe it was because he sounded like a kid with his high squeaky voice juxtaposed against other mainstream low booming voices of the popular black rappers of the era. I love how you put the three videos back to back just to give a true sense of how Slim evolved into Marshall. That spurred me to research it a little farther and I found this video that plays his voice from the 80’s until now. I attached the link below. Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. First off I like that you decided to blog about an artist , I never even thought of that. Your transition is very clear on who he was when he first started to now and I think that is the great part about your blog. Its awesome that you were able to show us the music videos to show he he has evolved to the person he is now. I am not a big fan about rap music but I do have a song that i like that’s by him and it is superman! That is like the only song I would jam out with by him. I had fun reading this biography I found on him, I hope you do too. Great job once again!
    https://www.allmusic.com/artist/eminem-mn0000157676/biography

    Like

  4. I really like that you chose to do the evolution of an artist! You clearly state how he started out and how things started changing, ending with the present Eminem. I do think that as he has become more popular, he has done more work that maybe he would not have done without some influence from the people he works with now. I think he has lost some of his originality over the years. I agree that his older stuff is his best work and I think that is the most true to who he is/was. I do like this song he did from 2002, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytQ5CYE1VZw&index=5&list=PLC0w3lEHx2SF3NsbnqnLbWBWyF_3g0cjZ
    I enjoyed your post, very informative and well written!

    Like

  5. So I really appreciate you doing this project on one of my favorite artists!!! My freshman year for english I had to write a letter through the voice of a famous person. I chose to write through the voice of Eminem writing to his daughter Halie. (I had some inspiration from one of his songs). I remember watching an interview of Eminem and it discussed how he was able to make certain words rhyme by manipulating pitch and tempo of those particular words to make the lyrics flow and make sense in his songs (i couldn’t find it to show you sorry) That is one of the things that has stayed consistent throughout most of his music, even today!!! I think its one of the main reasons he stays at the top of the rapping world, do you agree? Although Marshall has matured, I still thing his rhymes are still creative as ever. BTW my favorite songs by him are Survival, Insane, and Space Bound.

    Like

    1. That is awesome! He is my favorite. I saw about how he has proven to make several words rhyme with orange just by the way he says them so I know what you’re talking about! He is truly amazing. I totally agree his music is so different now but it is still awesome to hear how creative he can be with his rhymes.

      Like

Leave a comment